20 RCSP staff, farmers depart for two-week agricultural development training in South Korea

A delegation of 20 including SPIU Sustainable Agricultural Intensification and Food Security Project/Rural Community Support Project (SAIP/RCSP) staff, RCSP project coordination unit and farmers (Project beneficiaries) was on Friday flagged off to South Korea to participate in the training course on Crop Cultivation Technology and Farmer’s Organization Development under Korea International Cooperation Agency (KOICA)-Rwanda partnership.

 “This is a great achievement for you, so you should take advantage of this training and while in South Korea, keep time, be good students and ambassadors and represent your country with great honor,” Mr. Jean Marie Vianney Kagenza, Acting Coordinator, SPIU SAIP/RCSP told the delegation ahead of departure.

He thanked KOICA for the great initiative and continued support to the government of Rwanda in various sector most especially in agriculture sector development.

The training program has been designed to increase the capacity of farmers and agriculture technicians in modern production techniques and to share Korea’s experience in sustainable rural development.

The course will run for a period of two weeks in the Republic of Korea.

RCSP is funded by the KOICA and implemented under Single Project Implementation Unit (SPIU) of the Rwanda Agricultural and Animal Resources Development Board (RAB). 

The project aims to increase agricultural productivity of farmers in the marshlands and hillsides, increase farmers’ income and strengthen the participation of beneficiary farmers with ownership based on the diligence, self-help and cooperative, mindset approach. It targets rural farmer groups and individuals most especially smallholders in intervention areas producing rice, maize, beans, horticulture (fruits and vegetables) and other crops.

RCSP is implemented in seven sites namely; Ruterana in Muhanga District;  Kajevuba and Ruzigambogo in Gasabo District; Kanyonyomba in Gatsibo District; Rwinkwavu in Kayonza District; Bwanya in Gicumbi and Gatsibo Districts and  Gakenke in Gakenke District.